Quick Search


Title   Standard Series. 11 classes bound in 1.

Binding   Hardcover

Book Condition   Good+

Publisher    I. K. Funk & Company

Seller ID   1793

N/D [1880-81]. Quarter bound leather with marbled paper covered boards. Book slightly cocked. Covers show moderate surface and edge wear. Binding tight. Text yellowed at edges but clean and in very good condition. Former owner's signature dated April 15, 1887 on ffep. The Standard Series was the first publishing venture of what would become Funk & Wagnalls. The Standard Series offered discounted editions of "standard" religious and literary works in paper covers. This book collects 11 "classes" from a religious lecture series published as part of the Standard Series in a period leather binding: Class F-2 The Ethics of the Dust by John Ruskin, Class F-3 Frondes Agrestes. Readings in "Modern Painters." by John Ruskin, Class A-9 Letters to Workmen and Laborers. Fors Clavigera. Part 1. by John Ruskin, Class A-10 Letters to Workmen and Laborers. Fors Clavigera. Part 2. by John Ruskin, Class H-1 The Orations of Demosthenes. Vol. 1. Translated by Thomas Leland, Class H-2 The Orations of Demosthenes. Vol. 2. Translated by Thomas Leland, Class B-3 Calamities of Authors: Some Inquiries Respecting Their Moral and Literary Characters. by I. D'Israeli, Class E-6 The Hermits by Charles Kingsley, Class H-3 The Thoughts of the Emperor M. Aurelius Antonius. Translated by George Long, Class G-2 Letters From a Citizen of the World to His Friends in the East. by Oliver Goldsmith, and Class B-2 Essays by Thomas Carlyle. A scarce piece.; 4to - over 9 - 12" tall

Price = 100.00 USD

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to oddfellowbooks@gmail.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com